Shuttle HW and SW info

• Thread starter James P Garrett
  • Start date
J

James P Garrett

All,
In an article in
http://computerworld.com/newsletter/0,4902,78135,0.html?nlid=PM, a reference is made to the shuttle's main control computers as being
"Commercial off-the-shelf computer technologies." Anyone out there familiar enough with the stuff to comment on specs, vintage, os, venders, and
certification processes. Maybe some web sources for more information??

Just curious as to how 'cutting edge' the technology really is.
Thanks!

-Jim

I remember hearing years ago when the first shuttle missions were flown that they were controlled by DEC PDP11A's. That would be consitent with something designed in the mid 70's. I am sure that there have been upgrades since then, but then maybe not. After all we still have three CNCs that use PDP8A's.

B
I'm not an expert, but an interested onlooker, and (based on comments in recent TV news reporting) am guessing they still use '70's era avionics for the main shuttle computers. I don't know how the "glass cockpit" works into the system, and so far, haven't found any detailed information, although it would have made some sense for it to be built from "off-the-shelf" SW and HW components.

The best resource I've found so far with details concerning shuttle hardware and software is the "NSTS 1988 News Reference Manual" http://science.ksc.nasa.gov/shuttle/technology/sts-newsref/

This is the most up-to-date reference on their site, and causes me some concern. It seems incredible there isn't mention of changes and updates conducted in the intervening 15 years (linked to this page, at least), especially in light of statements made during recent interviews of many former and current astronauts and others that a way to keep the public at large interested in manned space travel is to keep them informed.