PWM DC motor speed control via anolog joystick

J

John

Hi! my name is John I am a recent graduate from ITT Technical Institute who is in dire need for a solution to what I would guess is a not so complex problem for someone with a degree higher than that of my own which is an associates.

First I must note that this is not a work related problem. I am accually a self employed cabinet maker who never worked profesionally in electronics but have been tinkering ever since I can remember. I am currently designing a robotic arm which operates much like a backhoe but with a gripper at the end of the boom instead of a bucket. It is made of wood and metal and its motion is accomplished by 12 volt DC linear actuators. I have two dual axis analog joysticks which I plan to use for speed and direction control of the various linear actuators. I purchased them from a company I found online that sells replacement parts for arcade games. The joysticks each have two 5K pots. I also bought a PWM DC motor speed controller circuit kit at an electronic store. It basically consists of a 556 Dual timer IC that uses a 10K pot to control the modulation of its output which in turn controls the switching speed of a power mosfet transister that is connected to the linear actuator. I planned on building one of these control circuits for each joystick function which would be a total of four thus controlling four linear actuators.