Siemens s5 / s7 online training

S

s.mcguinness

Does anyone know any good sites with online siemens training or even any good books that would assist my training with siemens s5 / s7 programming? I'm an apprentice and i'm trying to pick up a good understanding as early as possible. thanks.

I do not know about online training.

But I can recommend you the books written by HANS BERGER. Generally, the title is “Automating with …”. There are different books for different programming languages (STL, LAD, SCL, etc). I highly recommend these books! All of them have a floppy with examples. (Prices, as I know, are around $70 each.)

These books will answer any question and solve any problem. However, if you want to learn S5/S7 in an efficient manner (good enough / fast enough) I recommend you get training or the help from an experienced person.
Recommendation: Since you are an “apprentice” (I suppose a young person), focus on S7. Siemens already announced that will discontinue S5 and production is limited right know to spares for existing projects.

ValRo

thanks, currently i am recieving on-site training which is great but it means i am "in the deep end" all the programs are very complicated and i need a starting point. the reason i am interested in s5 is because the factory where i work is mainly using s5 at the moment but also s7 is starting to become more common so i totally agree with u but i would like a good knowledge of both. thanks for your help!! ;o)

W

wirebitersmith

Is there anyone who knows where I can find the official announcement from Siemens about discontinuing the S5 line? I am trying to avoid another problem by NOT installing another TXP system!! Thanks.

Is there a place where I can get a complete list of the abbreviations used in STL of S7?

Thank you.

C

Curt Wuollet