Passing a UDT/Struct to a FC/FB in Siemens S7

A

Anonymous

I am fairly new to Siemens S7 programming so forgive me if I'm being fairly inept here.

I have an application where I have an FC with a UDT as in input parameter. When I call the FC I cannot seem correctly pass the structure to the FC. A section of a DB has been structured to the UDT and it is this area I wish to pass to the FC as an input parameter.

Can anyone out there point me in the right direction?

Thanks

We should consider a simple example:

You have "UDT 10" defined.
This "UDT 10" is an input for "FC 11".
"FC 11" is called from "FB 12".
On the other hand you have "DB 13" that has somewhere in the declaration a complex variable named "MyUDT" of type "UDT 10".

Considering the above, in FB12 you should have "DB 13.MyUDT" as input for FC11.
If this is what you have, "MyUDT" will be transferred inside "FC 11" (transparent for you). If "DB 13" is an INSTANCE for "FB 12" it is not necessary to put "DB 13" in front of "MyUDT" as input to "FC 11".

This was a technical explanation. Since you are new to Siemens I think you have some problems with "correctly" monitoring the variables! The code is probably OK.

Use the following procedure to monitor your code:
- Open your subroutine. Click "Debug/Operation" and hit OK (strange step since there is no other option!)
- Click "Debug/Environment" check mark instance DB (left side, about 1/3 from the bottom - sorry I am not online so I can not give you the exact name for this box) and in the lower-right corner enter the DB number where your subroutine is called.
- Now, go online and monitor your subroutine. You will see what is happening in your sbr in the DB you specified. This procedure is very helpful when the sbr is called in multiple DBs!

If you still have problems email me at [email protected]

ValRo

C

Curt Wuollet