Let's Poll

U

Ultima

Hello,

Which are your favorites of any type of field instruments, especially transmitters, and why? (Please don't mention the vendors, just the type.) I post this for fun only so don't take it too seriously.

R
It seems folks are reluctant to respond so I will start with a couple I hate.

Doppler Ultrasonic Flowmeters - I have tried several different brands, now no-one can convince me they even work (Transit time are OK).

Mechanical flow switches (very unreliable).

Roy

B

Bob Peterson

The paddle type flow switches work pretty well in clean, non-visocus fluids. If misapplied nothing works very well.

The doppler flow meter has a VERY restricted application set, but the vendors tend to oversell them into applications where they have high probabilities of failure. They do work -- if you use them correctly.

Walt
Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device

R
Bob,
I worked in the mining industry for many years. It is common practice for the grinding mill manufacturers to use a very expensive paddle flow switch in the trunion bearing lube oil circuit (very clean oil). A typical mill lube system runs non stop for months on end however I have observed on a power failure less than half of the switches work. Loss of lube oil in this application would be disasterous. For this reason I would never use one in a critical application.

Roy

R
Walt,
We have all seen the fancy pictures of a sound wave going through the pipe wall and bouncing off a solid particle back to the transducer, I don't believe that. I have tried different dopplers on slurry service and for a while they seem to work but as soon as you turn your back they fail.

You are welcome to that technology.

Regards
Roy

Hello,