SCADA Systems for Wind Turbines

W

Wes

I just started a job at a wind power company. They want me to determine what is required to develop a SCADA system of our own to save from the licensing expense of their current vendor. I have no experience in this area and hope that I can draw from the collective experience on this forum.

Our turbines already have the hardware in place: sensors, PLC, controller, etc. They have a working solution now, but as mentioned, the vendor software is expensive and not open to other controllers, communication protocols, new reports, or any other further development.

So in this case, the work that needs to be done is mostly software:
- Networking/communication to the turbine (protocol, servers, etc.)
- HMI (alarms, receive data, send control signals, monitoring, data analysis, reports, etc.)

Basically, can anyone provide an estimation of how many programmers would be needed and how long the project would take?

Any recommendations or best practices would be greatly appreciated, such as programming language to use, software libraries, good resources or books about how to do build a SCADA system, etc. Any other advice or recommendations would be great as well.

I would really appreciate any advice since I am working alone on this. Thanks!

Tell your manager it cannot be done by one person working alone for any reasonable values of quality, features and time-to-market. There's a reason why all the HMI companies have dozens, sometimes hundreds, of coders and software architects.

It is far cheaper to explore a private label arrangement with somebody like Indusoft, or one of the other smaller HMI vendors than to try to reinvent the wheel like this.

This kind of project is a career-limiter, because they won't remember that they asked you to do the impossible with nothing, they'll only remember the failure with your name attached.

Good luck,

Walt Boyes
Editor in Chief
Control and Controlglobal.com
www.controlglobal.com