Wind-up of the Machine vs Wind-up of the Fuel System

S

Serg

Hi everyone,
I am a translator who currently working with SPEEDTRONIC Mark VIe Turbine Control Systems Guide and one of the places where i stuck is the "**wind-up***". Could anyone help me to understand what it means?

Thanks in advance.
Best regards,
Serg

It goes like this:
Gas Fuel Protection sequencing provides monitoring and diagnostics perform leakage diagnostics across the Stop/Speed Ratio valve and Control Valves by performing a number of tests during startup and warm-up, to prevent the gas turbine from excessive or low fuel at light-off, to prevent "**wind-up***" of the machine.

If the expected P2 pressure drops below the required setpoint for fuel splits when the generator breaker is closed, the unit will perform a runback (L3FG_P2X) to prevent "**wind-up***" of the fuel gas system to prevent an overspeed condition in the event full pressure is restored.

Serg,
I don't know how well I can explain this, but here goes. First try searching the web for controller "wind up", I got several good responses back from my query. Wind up typically refers to a controller trying to meet setpoint that has saturated due to the process variable being too far away from the process setpoint.

The gas turbine controls try to maintain a certain P2 interstage fuel pressure. The setpoint for this pressure is based on the machine type and on the speed of the machine. For instance on a Frame 7 machine the typical required inlet fuel pressure is 350 psi. The P2 interstage pressure setpoint is very low during firing and roll-up (less than 20 psi if I recall), but increments up as turbine speed ramps to 100% speed (somewhere around 310psi). Alarms and trips are set-up if P2 pressure is too high, too low, or if the SRV valve is open more than a certain percentage during start-up.