ICP microphone to a PLC??

N

NBenitez

Hello everybody.

I am an engineer on Acoustics in Mexico, and I am not very related to Automation and Control. I work as a consultant but now I have a Customer who wants to use a microphone with his PLC. Microphones we use are ICP (or IEPE) type.

The only info I could get is that microphone must provide 4-20mA, BUT the response of our microphones is in mV!!

I need your advice and support, can we use this kind of microphone?

Any comment is welcomed.

Thanks and regards.
Norma B.

I am having a hard time imagining what your customer intends to accomplish by connecting a microphone directly to a PLC. I'm not aware of any PLC which has the necessary hardware to sample process audio signals. They just don't have the acquisition hardware, memory buffers, or processing power to do anything with an audio signal.

Either your customer doesn't know what they want, or else their requirements have not been adequately communicated to you. I imagine that they need to connect the microphone to be connected to a system that can actually do something with the audio signal and then provide some sort of test result to the PLC. This will be much more complicated and expensive than hooking a microphone into an analogue input.

C

curt wuollet

What does he want it to do with the PLC? Noise measurement, voice control? I would expect that you will need some sort of an intermediary to turn the audio into a representative quantity to pass to the PLC. Bear in mind that the analog inputs to a PLC have almost no bandwidth as they are sampled typically at 100Hz at best. This according to Nyquist means you could deal with frequencies up to 50 Hz. And that's fairly optimistic.

Regards
cww

C

curt wuollet

I should mention that the PLC I am working on would handle this. It includes a DSP.

Regards
cww

V

Vladimir E. Zyubin

> I have a Customer who wants to use a microphone with his PLC.