Can a shaded pole motor be used as a generator?

F

Francis

I am an engineer student currently building a generator from a shaded-pole motor (Fasco model D289: 6 coils, 120v, 1050 RPM). I plan to modify the rotor with permanent magnets, so that the rotation of the rotor will induce current in the armature coil. my question is:

Will the armature be more efficient at generating electricity with or without the shading coils? In other words should I keep the shading coils around the pole peace or should I remove them?

An other question from the above question. If I am to remove the shading coils: should I remove them completely or can I just cut the ring so that it is not continuous anymore?

Thank You for your answer
Francis
franc_08 [at] hotmail.com

P

Process Value

Shaded pole motor as a generator

WOw , ok this is a exciting experiment. as far as the shaded pole is concerned it is better to remove it. or as you have said cut the ring so that it is not continuous anymore.

the shaded pole is a highly inductive element , and if present in the stator will form a highly inductive load. In a generator, a inductive load tends to create a armature reaction which tries to reduce the main magnetic field, leaving the shading poles will create such a effect. thus the main magnetic field, which as you say is going to created by a permanent magnet is going to be reduced even at no load conditions.

thus it is better to remove the shading coil.

The experiment in itself is going to be a difficult task , modifying a rotor as far as i know is not a simple task. you need to get permanent magnets of sufficient strength also and then make a rotor which includes the magnets and also is in perfect space alignment with the stator coils. But what ever the outcome of the experiment please reply back with the results :).

and one more thing , is this the main project or part of a project ?? i am curious to know the source of inspiration for such a project.

Hi