Modbus and meters

K

Kshitiz

Hi,

We all know that various electronic devices use modbus protocol for communicating electronic devices. I just want to know whether modbus protocol is same for every kind of water meter or electric meter or for all meters.

I am a computer engineer and I have no idea about these electronic devices. I have been assigned a task to read data (readings) from every kind of electronic meter (like water meter or gas meter or electricity meter) using java application. So, I just want to know whether all devices use same type of modbus protocol or there is any other story.

Please give me the direction

Thank you

P

Patrick Lansdorf

The Modbus protocol is the same, however baudrate, parity, physical layer (RS232/485) etc will be different and usually one can select what baudrate and slave ID that the Modbus slave should use.

Furthermore, the data mapping will also be different for all devices.
Reading register 1 from product A may contain flow, while reading the same register from product B may contain temperature...

//Patrick L
HMS

L

Lynn August Linse

Assume every BRAND of meter has a different Modbus layout - plus there is NO easy way to 'browse' or read the meter to determine it's type. Utility meters tend to have under-powered CPUs, so many implement the barest-bone data map they can. If the meter has 6 words of data, reading 7 words will fail, and so on.

Shockingly, even within the same company, it may not be possible to know which meter you are talking to dynamically - someone may have to manually configure your tool to know which meter is where, thus telling you what registers to read and how to interpret the values returned.

Thanks for the reply :) Can you please tell me various protocols (except Modbus) which would be getting used for meters like water meter, electric meter or gas meter. Or from where I can get the list?