ABB 800xa PID Tuning parameters

M

MacGyver23

Hi Guys,

I'm a BOP commissioning engineer and I'm working for the first time with the ABB 800XA DCS (as you'll figure it out I'm still young in the job). I'm kind a lost with ABB PID tuning parameters.

Does Kp = Proportional Band or is it Kp = 100/Pband ?
Is Ti repetition/second or is it second/repetition ?
(Compared to Foxboro parameters)

I've tried to tune with both and doesn't really seem to fit.

Thanks for tour help.

Since there are a few different PID control module/function blocks (CM/FB) can you provide the following info:

1. System version
2. Library(ies) used that contain the PID(s) you are interested in
3. PID CM/FB name(s)

Are you tuning via the extended faceplate, edit tab?
Have you called up the contextual help, specific to that CM/FB by selecting the object and clicking on the "F1" key on the keyboard?

800xA is the operator interface. You need to tell us what type of controller you are using - AC800, AC450, Bailey, MOD, DCI, etc - and which function blocks on that controller.

You have of course already checked the manuals for your controller though haven't you.

If you need to convert tuning numbers from one system to another try http://www.expertune.com/TuningTranslator.html

Rob
www[.]lymac.co.nz

M
First of all thanks a lot guys for quick answers.

Lets see. The controller is the MOD300 and the system version is the number 5.0 (SP2).

Regarding libraries they are specific to this project, for instance my PIDs doesn't include the Auto tune function.

I did, of course checked the documentation but there is nothing really detailed about PIDs, but I should be looking at libraries (kind a difficult to get my hand on it).

We are finishing the steam blow so for the moment everything is pretty stable but will be needing bypass (attemp, HRSG level ctrl...) as soon as outage is done. So I'd like to have all information in hand.

Thanks again guys.