Thermocouple and DCS Readings Different, possible cause?

T

The miracle worker

I have an issue with a Type K thermocouple setup. I have about 10-15°C difference between what is read at the thermocouple and what I read at the compensation cable before it connects into the DCS card. It is old WX comp cable over a hot float glass line. The T/C reads 105°C but getting 120°C on DCS. Now I believe the cable is degrading and the insulation is failing as it is brittle in parts. the Thermocouple/comp cable junction is at a high temperature. also the dissimilar metals of the T/C and comp cable may be giving us problems?

I'm not an expert with this so any info would help.

what are the displayed millivolts at the t/c and what are the displayed millivolts at the dcs terminals?

a further question is this. What is the temperature at the terminals you indicate are at high temperature. T/C extension wires are generally designed for ambient temperature compensations and are not meant for correction at process temperatures.

Electrical noise due to HT cables... Rans near to thermocouple cable....

mV may Different at Thermocouple leads and DCS connection leads in panel

A 5°C error (maybe greater) is possible with some handheld digital thermocouple thermometers because of where and how the cold junction measurement is sensed. When the CJ sensor is buried under the plastic housing and does not really reflect the terminal temperature, CJ error can be significant.

For instance, suppose a handheld were stored in a poorly heated building in the winter so the handheld has equilibrated at 10°C. The handheld is taken and connected to a hot area where the thermocouple head gets up to 55°C. The terminals heat up to about 40°C fairly quickly, but the CJ sensor is buried and has a thermal lag of 10 or 15 minutes. Then CJ measurement could be much colder than the actual terminal block, say 25°C, resulting in a lower than expected temperature reading (40 - 25 = 15).