Difference in Gas and Steam TG control philosophy

S

Saif

Dear All,

Im really feel very much thankful to all of you guys for contributing your valuable knowledge to support and learn the newbees like me.

I'm new in power generation system & have worked with gas turbines. I want to know what are the difference between Gas turbine and Steam turbine control philosophy, AVR control and generator transmission. is there Isoch/droop control in STG also? please elaborate.

Saif,

Welcome.

When considering AC power generation, there is the generator and its prime mover. The prime mover supplies torque to the generator, which converts the torque to amperes (which are transmitted via wires to motors and other devices which convert the amperes into torque or other useful work). So, regardless of the type of prime mover all of the same principles still apply and must be satisfied: speed (frequency) control, synchronization, AVR control, Droop/Isochronous, etc.

Many steam turbines in combined-cycle power plants are simply "follower" units, meaning their control valves are driven full open after synchronization and they turbine converts whatever steam flows into the turbine as gas turbine load to torque applied to the generator. These steam turbines aren't really capable of Isochronous speed control, or even of droop speed control (the gas turbines are much larger than the steam turbines).

So, depending on the application, from an AC power generation perspective the control philosophy is basically the same--since there's virtually no difference between generators driven by steam turbines or gas turbines (or hydro turbines or reciprocating engines--all generator prime movers are simply torque producers).

Hope this helps!

> Many steam turbines in combined-cycle power plants are simply "follower" units,

I would like to thank CSA for providing a simple explanation to help me understand.