Preparation for Field engineer interview

O

Omer

Dear All,

I am a mechanical engineer having a masters degree. I am still looking to get into a GT or ST field engineering role in middleast. Can anyone please guide me which direction i should start preparing for the interview so i can really out stand and at least know all the expected info while appearing for the interviews. I am looking for a specific direction, otherwise the scattered material on internet is making it difficult what to study and what notes should i take.

Best Regards,

Omer,

So, you want to be a field engineer. It can be a very rewarding profession--both personally and monetarily. But, like everything in life: Half of knowing what you want is knowing what you have to give up to get it.

Interviewers these days ask all kinds of questions, not just technical questions. Do they want a great technical person? You bet; that's important.

But what they really want are people who are self-starters, people who can work without much supervision. What they REALLY want are people who have great people skills. As a field engineer you are going to have to deal with colleagues, managers, Customers, labourers (millwrights, pipefighters, electricians, and other crafts--some trained and knowledgeable, and many not). You are going to have to be able to complete projects, sometimes with insanely tight deadlines, and sometimes with extremely angry Customers, and even craft labour.

You will likely get some training from the company who hires you in their methods and practices and techniques and terminology--and paperwork. There is a LOT of paperwork. Companies and Customers demand reports--more paper seems to mean a better job was performed (not true by the way--but you'll never convince your Manager or the Customer of that; you have been warned). So, you need to know the basic concepts and jargon and principles.