PLCs for Beginners

M

Mr. James

hello. I am a mechanic with strong skills. However, I have 0 experience with PLCs. This seems to be where the industry is headed. where do I begin in order to self teach? I would appreciate your suggestions.

B

Bob Peterson

You state you have strong skills, but not what area those skills lay.

I think I would suggest starting some some basic electronics and
electricity.

I am not sure self teaching is the most advantageous way to approach this.

There are a lot of aspects to applying PLCs. Understanding the equipment is at least as important as anything else.

programming it is probably the easiest part.

I self-taught with a DirectLogic 05 from AutomationDirect. The components are very inexpensive and you can get a demo version of the software for free. Demo version limits you to the amount of lines you can write, but it is enough to get going. They even sell self-learning kits. Good start into ladder logic.

C

Curt Wuollet

I used to recommend AB because of their ubiquity. But now I recommend Automation Direct for their serious effort to provide no-cost education to expand their user base. Go to automationdirect.com and look for the links to myriad videos and tutorials. And you can get a PLC of your very own for $69 to play with. Software is free but you will need a $15 programming cable. You can also make that if you want, they provide drawings of all their cables.

Regards

cww

P

PLC Programmer

PLC programming has a lot of Logic involved.
I would recommend you to start from there.

Start learning logical wiring diagrams with relays.

Once you are well versed with logical gates designing with relays. You could start learning some electrical wiring concepts and switch gears.

Once you have completed, go ahead with basic ladder Programming.

Download an open source PLC Ladder programming software of brands such as Keyence (for starters) and Delta (for functions).