Gas Turbine First Fire

G

George

I am a DCS programmer recently introduced to the Gas Turbine based Power Generation Industry. As a newbie I have very less knowledge on the precautions and procedures involved in a GT first fire. Have gone through much of the plant operation program and philosophy, but still seem to be lacking knowledge of First fire procedures.

Please do guide me in general.

George,

First fire of a gas turbine generally means that you have already <b>proven</b> that the fuel stop valve(s) will be closed by the turbine control system when a trip condition has been detected. By every means possible (some turbine controls have two independent means of electrically closing the fuel stop valves, as well as hydraulic means). So, you first need to be extremely confident that the fuel stop valves will close when a trip condition is detected by the turbine control system.

Now, a lot (too many) people--especially Customers--believe that means every single trip condition has to be simulated and proven, and that's just not true. You need to be assured that each trip condition will actuate/de-actuate the necessary relays to close the fuel stop valve(s), and then prove the fuel stop valves will close when commanded to, and then you are in a good place to be able to actually admit fuel into the turbine with the confidence that, if necessary, the fuel stop valve(s) will close to protect the turbine.