Adjusting the Voltage on Electric Socks

K

Krumb

I think I may be in the wrong place. I'm an amateur working on my socks. When I walk the dog my toes get really cold so I got electric socks for Christmas... the problem is they don't get hot unless I over voltage them with an extra battery... then they get too hot. I need some kind of voltage regulator for cheap. My socks are supposed to run on 3V DC but they don't get warm... I have a 4V DC lead acid battery that I would like to use but the socks get too hot. Is there some kind of volume knob adjustment I can add to adjust the voltage?

<b>Moderator's Note:</b> We get lots of unusual questions on this site, most of which I do not post. Every once and a while we get one that I believe will tickle the fancy of the people who read this forum. This is one such post. You folks have any suggestions for this poor guy?

C

Curt Wuollet

Search Ebay for this:

DC New 1.8V 3V 5V 6V 12V 2A Low Voltage Motor Speed Controller PWM 1803B

Ignore the motor speed controller part. What this is is a pulse width modulated voltage regulator.

You need the PWM part for reasonable efficiency. A rheostat or other simple means will waste power and may get as hot as your sox.

Can't guarantee that it will work but it's where I'd start (if I couldn't build one).

And I guess it _is_ a control problem. But too trivial for a PID loop.

Regards
cww

R
I'm a year round motorcyclist in Sunny Vancouver BC :)

Search the web for Girbing they make a range of 12 Volt and battery powered heated gear with a lifetime warranty.

They also sell the Pulse Duration heater controls.

C

Curt Wuollet

Having mentioned a method for regulating your sox with a lead acid battery, I must mention that as a lifelong resident of Minnesota, I have put extensive thought and effort into the matter of warm feet. The electric socks thing is one of those fads that keeps coming back. They have been through many iterations in my memory of say the last 50 years.