HART Multidrop to 4-20mA

N

NorthSeaMonkey

Hi,

I'm new to Control.com and hoping someone on here may be able to assist.

I have in the past worked with Rosemount 3095 multi variable transmitters, a tri loop barrier was installed at the marshaling cabinet and 3PVs modulated onto a HART signal were converted to 3 4-20mA outputs.

Also in the past I have worked with Rosemount 3051 transmitters in a multi drop configuration using a HART single pair current loop.

I now have an application where single 3051 differential pressure transmitter is installed, a second instrument is required. Typically there are no spare cores available. Pulling a new cable would be costly.

Can anyone advise of a product which would work similarly to the 3095/tri loop barrier and convert two measured DPs modulated onto a single HART loop back to two 4-20mA loops for hand off to an aging DCS?

Any help gratefully received.

Kind regards
Chris

You're asking for a dual instrument Tri-Loop, aka Hex-Looper(?), that would have to integrate

- HART master functionality

- Multidrop functionality (single pair of wires to multidrop both field transmitters)

- break-out analog box functionality to get data into analog form on the host side, like the Tri-Loop or Moore Industries HCS.

I suspect the market demand for such a commercial box just isn't there or Moore Industries would have one.

Most HART multiplexors will not solve the problem because typically each instrument is connected with its own 2 wire cable to a Mux and you only have one 2 wire cable.

HART multidrop will run with both transmitters on a single pair in parallel, with both devices running at 4mA and a HART master in control of the HART 'bus'.

If you can live with a module that's a Modbus RTU slave on the output side, ICP-DAS's HART-710 Hart-to-Modbus converter supports HART Multidrop on the field side.
http://tinyurl.com/mwptcl9