Starting Means for Gas Turbine

M

muddasir

As control.com is very informative to the beginners like me, which are helped by highly experienced professional Engineers. i thought of posting my problem of getting information about starting means of gas turbine.

I am a trainee engineer undergoing O/m of gas turbines. i have really put all my efforts to get information about starting means of gas turbine but my efforts went in vain. I want threads to access the information of the above said topic preferably with pictures, you can also help me with links or websites to access the above information which you prefer.

Replies will help a lot:
email:- [email protected]

muddasir,

The thing that most people are somewhat surprised to learn about starting means is that the amount of torque being transmitted from a prime mover of some sort (electric motor; diesel engine; etc.) must be variable. One just can directly couple an induction electric motor--which runs at a constant speed--to the turbine shaft and accelerate the turbine shaft from zero speed to near rated speed without some method of being able to vary the shaft speed. And, some kind of variable torque transmission device (usually a torque converter) is used for varying the torque provided from a prime mover that runs at a relatively constant speed to the turbine shaft which must be accelerated from zero speed to purge speed to rated speed.