GAS Turbine Training

R

RenegadeGas

Hello Everyone,

I hope someone here can help me with my query.

I am an Electrical Engineering College Student. I have an interest in gas turbines and would like to become a field service engineer. I'm currently having problems with finding a place to train in this direction as most Training courses I find are for turbine operators.

I live in the centre of England and the closest power Gas Turbine site is about 100 miles from where I live (SIEMENS). I just can't find a place to train as a new guy coming into the industry. The other alternatives are to train on Aircraft type which is only about 5 miles from home but that is not the type I want to specialize in.

Is there a place I can go and train to become a Gas Turbine field engineer?

Your help deeply appreciated.

thanks

Hi,

About the best "training" I know of for gas turbines is available from Cranfield University, at Cranfield, Bedfordshire. But this training is primarily for design and maintenance, I believe--not "field engineer" training, per se.

Do you want to be a mechanical field engineer, or a controls field engineer?

About the best field engineering training one can get is by getting hired on with one of the major OEMs likes GE, Siemens, Solar, etc. (Alstom is being assimilated by GE as we speak, and their turbines were mostly knock-offs of GE-design units to begin with, as long ago they were a licensed packager of GE-design heavy duty gas turbines.)

I don't know about GE Oil & Gas, headquartered in Firenze (Florence), Italy, but I know that in the USA GE isn't doing any field engineer training to speak of. Virtually none. The new unit gas turbine business in the USA is not very good these days, and when new units are being sold and installed and commissioned that's when GE is training field engineers like crazy in the USA.