Modbus RTU

A

AJ

Hey,

I am trying to get my HMI to display integer values that the PIC18F4550 micro calculates using RS232 and Modbus RTU. I am new to Modbus and am trying to learn the protocols. I am thinking I need to set the Micro as the master and the HMI as the slave. So I send the this packet:<pre>
3.5 Character Start bit at 38K4 baud rate
TXREG = 0x01; //Addresses the HMI as address 1
TXREG = 0x02; //Tells HMI to read registers
TXREG = 4; //Data to send to HMI as a test
crc = CRC16 ();
if (crc = 1) //Data is ok
{
3.5 Character Stop bit at 38K4 baud rate
return;
}
if (crc = 0) //Data is not ok
{
modbus(); //Go through routine again
}</pre>
I am wondering, how do I store the integer value that I want to display on the HMI in an address in the Micro that the Modbus RTU recognizes (40001 and up). Would I put the integer value that I want displayed in the data part of the packet?

I am also wondering, will the HMI send a confirmation value back saying it got the data?

Thanks for any help!

AJ

B

Bruce Durdle

Depending on the HMI, you are probably better to use the HMI as the master and the MCU as the slave.

Allocate a series of registers in the MCU as "addresses" - so locations 160 and 161 could be Holding Register (4)00001, 162 and 163 (4)0002 etc. Assign these Holding Register addresses in the HMI to the tags - the HMI will then take care of the message structure. Your MCU has to reply to the message from the +HMI by constructing the necessary reply message and inserting the appropriate values of data from the Holding Register array you have defined.

I have software for an 18F4xxx MCU if you are interested - email me direct at bmdurdle at clear dot net dot nz.

Cheers,
Bruce.

Hey,

thanks for putting that code available, it will fit my project nicely. I am unsure of this code though:<pre>
void readRegResponse(void) //response for modbus 03 function (read registers)
{
unsigned char i;
T.bytes.lowByte = buffer[3];
T.bytes.highByte = buffer[2];