ABB ACS 800 Drive Overload setting and Over current limit setting.

Hi All, I am new to ABB ACS 800 Drives. I would appreciate if you guys can help me out to understand the settings of ABB drives parameters regarding overload and over current limits.

We have a ABB ACS 800 VVVF drive to run a motor which is rated 685 A. Last night, motor current exceeded till 800 A and drive temperature rise to 90 Deg C but drive didn't trip and we stopped it from the control room. I checked the maximum current l of the drive in parameter group 20.03 which is set to 1350 A while the load current limit in 72.18 is set to 500 %. User load curve in 72.01 is set to inactive.
If you guys have any good tips to clarify why the current limit is set to 500% , should i reduce it to motor nominal current range? and if user load curve is inactive, then how the drive will function in case of overload.
Please guide. Thanks,

What value is the motor nominal current parameter, 99.06?
Hi GMcc, Thanks for your reply. Motor nominal current value in 99.06 is 685A, same as name plate data. Max current limit in parameter 20.03 is set to 1385 A. while user load curve in parameter 72.01 is inactive.

You’re welcome Tahoe. I have used ACH580 which have some common parameters with the ACS. What value are the parameters Motor Thermal Protection, 30.04 and Motor Therm P Mode, 30.05? Do you expect the motor to be overloaded for short periods of time due to variations in the mechanical load? The thermal protection should be set up to protect the motor, other limitation settings are generally to protect the load if required from too much torque. See ABB Tech Note attached.

Attachments

Dear GMcc
I have checked the parameters 30.04 is set to FAULT and 30.05 is set to DTC mode. Here i would like to mention that 30.06 which is motor thermal time is set to 8000 sec which seems too high. what do you suggest about it?